Work in progress

Hello Everyone!

Today I’m sharing some of my recent projects with you! Just 2, because these are the 2 i’ve been working on over the last week.

A pair of socks for me. Not even close to a pair yet as, as shown in the picture above, I’ve only gotten one leg done so far. It’s a very long leg, because the cables were so fun and pretty and i didn’t want to knit the heel yet. The pattern is Weathertop Socks by Claire Ellen (who is AWESOME!). I’m in the claire ellen sock club and the patterns so far have been amazing. And all lord of the rings inspired! The yarn is Lana Grossa Meilenweit Men (even though I’m most definitely not a man). The colors of the yarn just seemed perfect for a pattern based on gloomy Weathertop. The yarn is very nice to work with and the striping is a lot more subtle in reality. The photo somehow brings them out.

After the leg the heel seemed hard and confusing (which it really isn’t, but I just wasn’t feeling up to it yet) and so I cast on another pair of socks. This pair will be for my sister. She’d been wanting another pair and I really don’t mind knitting them (haha!) so she got me some yarn and told me to get knitting. And I did.

The leg looks tiny here in the picture, but the cables pull it in a lot. It does fit. As I’m typing this all that’s left on the first sock is the grafting of the toe. This sock flew by! It’s taken me less than 2 days! The pattern is House Baratheon Socks by Chrisitne Pike and the yarn is Hjerte Garn Sock 4. It’s a beautiful grey and white marled yarn and is perfectly soft. I wil be casting on the second sock either tonight or tomorrow. Depends on if I can understand the heel instructions for the Weathertop socks tonight, because I am exhausted. I’ve had a very long day at school. I didn’t get home until 8 in the evening (it’s 10 now). We visited the NIOD (Nederlands Instituut voor Oorlogs documentatie / Dutch Institute for War Documentation) for a lecture and went to the Anne Frank house for the first time.  I thought the Anne Frank house hadn’t really gotten to me, but I got pretty dizzy (probably because I was a little hungry too) and the images and videos of concentration camps are things that always manage to upset me. Especially as I will be visiting Dachau this year, which is the concentration camp where my grandfather was held captive. Apparently it’s stirred up some things.

Sorry to end on such a sombre note! The Anne Frank house and the NIOD were both equally impressive (I got to hold one of 3 facsimiles of the Anne Frank Diary, which is a very unique experience! I was terrified of somehow damaging it!).

I have been considering starting a podcast. I’ve been hooked since I started watching knitting/crafting podcasts in December and really think it would be something I’d like!

Love, Renée

2 thoughts on “Work in progress

Leave a Reply

