Even more mitts

Hello,

Is anyone else noticing a trend in my recent projects too? I seem to be all about the mitts lately! I have another new pair to show off today and have plans for yet another pair. Thankfully todays pair I actually got to keep. All the others so far have been for others. 2015 might become the year that I start focusing more on gift knitting, although there are still a million more things I want to knit for myself too.

It’s been a bit of a hectic few days. It’s the end of the period at my university (who has 4 week classes, it’s pretty insane!?! You’ve just started and then BAMMM exams!) so I’m dealing with a lot of deadlines. As of now I have 1 exam left and 3 essays in varying states of completeness. I made myself promise to work on at least one after writing this blog post.

Back to the good stuff: Finished stuff!

My mitts! I had some souvenir yarn (from a trip to New York with my Dad. I ended up spending over 3 hours in a yarn shop with him patiently waiting!) lying around that I had yet to find a purpose for. As these were going to be for me I felt it would be perfectly fine to use the more expensive special yarn for this project. Not to say that the yarn used for the other mitts wasn’t great, I was really pleasantly surprised!

Pattern: The Seeta fingerless gloves by Maria Sheherazade. The pattern is well written and very clear, although it took me a while to figure out the chart. That was all me though, somehow I kept expecting this pattern to be devastatingly hard, but it never really was. The texture is very interesting to knit. It looks harder than it actually is.

Needles:  3.00 mm (US 2,5) Knitters Pride metal double point needles

Yarn: Frog tree pediboo in 11100 Grey. This has 233 meters per 100 grams. It’s 80% merino and 20% bamboo. This is a sport weight yarn. I really liked knitting with this! It’s sturdy and yet soft!

Experience: After I got over my initial fear of this pattern being terrifying and very hard, it as a breeze. The pattern is very easily memorisable. It makes a great on the go project, although you’ll have people keeping an eye on you and wondering what they heck you’re trying to do. My mitts fit perfectly (snug, but not too tight). I have small wrists and, although I have long fingers, my hands aren’t very broad. If you have larger hands or wrists I’d add some more plain stitches to the hand!

After I finish some other things, I need to cast on yet another pair of mitts. These next ones will be for my sister as a belated christmas gift. I’m going to be knitting the Vancouver Fog mitts by Jen Balfour in Lana Grossa McWool Merino Mix 140 in 404 grey. This is the same yarn I used for the previous mitts.

Love, Renée

Leave a Reply

