Mitts, mitts and more mitts

Hello,

Today I have some recent finished objects to share with you. These were (belated) Christmas gifts so I wanted to wait to share them until they had all been gifted.

I tried to pick patterns and colours that fit with the recipient and from the reactions I seem to have done well enough!

Pair 1:

Pattern: The pattern used for these mittens is the Beeswax Mitts by Amy van der Laar. I modified these by adding more rounds of ribbing.

Needles: I knit these on 3.5 mm bamboo double point needles.

Yarn: I used Lana Grossa McWool Merino Mix 140 in colour 440 Grey. This comes in 50 grams with 140 metres.

Experience: This pattern was great fun to knit. The chart is very clear and easy to follow if you have some experience working with charts. I love how the pattern is continued on the thumb, it just gives it that extra wow factor.

 

Pair 2:

Pattern: These mittens were made using the pattern H.G. by Zhora Design.

Needles: Knit on my 2.5 mm carbonise double point needles.

Yarn: These were made with Rico Design Superba Klassik 4-fadig in colour 103 Red. This comes in a 100 grams and has 420 metres.

Experience: Such a quick and easy knit! I spotted some tiny mistakes in the pattern, but the designer was very good about correcting the pattern as soon as I notified them. I had already knit the first mitten without noticing, so had to carry it through on the second one, but it’s very hard to notice even if you know about it. The recipient doesn’t knit so I’m pretty sure she won’t notice even if she reads this.

 

Pair 3:

Pattern: These are the Emilee Dee mitts by Paula McKeever. The pattern is written for sportweight and DK yarn.

Needles: Knit on 3.5 mm bamboo double point needles.

Yarn: I knit these in Lana Grossa McWool Merino Mix 140 in colour 414 petrol.Once again this was a 50 gram ball with 140 metres.

Experience: My yarn was knitting up too loosely on the needles recommended for the DK weight yarn (even though it’s technically DK weight yarn) so I knit on the needle size recommended for sport weight and followed the sport weight pattern. These ended up a little roomy, but very cozy. The pattern is super easy. The mitts look cabled, but are actually a lace pattern. Even though there’s lace they are still quite warm.

All three recipients seemed pretty pleased with them, so I’m pleased. A pair of mitts takes relatively little time and yarn and they’re fun quick knits. After seeing these my sister has also requested a pair (still looking for the perfect pattern) and I’ve also cast on a pair for me with some stash yarn (bought on my birthday trip to New York).

Do you ever knit fingerless mittens?

 

Love, Renée

2 thoughts on “Mitts, mitts and more mitts

  1. All of these are so gorgeous! Fingerless mitts make the best gifts because they are so quick. I love the last ones. I think the yarn/pattern combo is great!

Leave a Reply

