Recipe: Pink Meringue

Hello,

Today I’m sharing one of my recent kitchen experiments. I’ve always loved meringue, but I usually tend to think it’s too much of a hassle to make and end up forgetting about making them again. During the Christmas holidays, I finally took the time to make some! One reason that I was finally convinced I needed to make these again is that my dad splurged and bought a food processor. It’s sort of like a Kitchenaid, but a different brand (Kenwood). The thing is amazing!!! We got several attachment with the machine and I’m having a great time trying them all out. Even though it’s my dad’s I’m the one who has been using it most haha. Note to self: write a post about my favourite attachment, the juicer! I’ve been wanting a juicer for ages. I’ve taken to making a glass of juice every evening as a healthy treat. It’s so fun to make the juice and it tastes amazing!

But okay, back to the meringues. If you’ve ever made them, you’ll know that they involve beating egg whites until foamy. I used to do this by hand… exhausting! But with the new machine, I can just put the whites in the bowl, turn that machine on and wait for a minute. It’s quite fun to look at actually. Especially when you realise how much work you’re being saved. The only “scary” part of the process is now the splitting of the eggs. I always get so nervous. Probably because it’s gone wrong a few times in the past. I’d have 5 perfectly split eggs and then the last one completely fails and I’d have to start all over. Ugh!

Here’s the recipe:

6 egg whites

100 grams fine sugar

100 grams icing sugar

some lemon juice

food colouring

Piping bag

Parchment paper

Preheat the oven at 80 degrees Celsius.

Start by splitting the eggs. For the meringues we’ll only be needing the egg whites. Put the egg whites into a large bowl (it doesn’t look like much now, but it’s a lot!) and beat. Either by hand (it can double as a workout) or using a machine like I did. Beat until foamy and slightly stiff (the whites will form peaks, but the peaks will still fall down). Now add a splash of lemon juice (this keeps them shiny and crisp. If you’re not adding food colouring this also helps them to stay white). Whilst beating add the sugar (both kinds). Do this very slowly. Add it in small portions and after adding a portion wait until adding another until the sugar has been completely absorbed into the mix.

After adding all the sugar, add a tablespoon of food colouring. I used pink and my batter ended up neon!

Now beat the mixture again until stiff (it forms peaks and they don’t fall down). The mixture will get a little shiny.

Now for the fun part!

Put the mixture into a piping bag with a large opening and pipe small blobs of meringue onto a tray lined with parchment paper. Make sure not to put your meringues too close together! You might just end up with one large blob instead of fancy shapes. (if you accidentally do, no worries! You can crumble it over a desert/cake of make an  eton mess!)

Place tray(s) into the oven and bake for 2 hours. To check if they’re done take a toothpick and stick it into one of the meringues. Pull it back out and if the pick comes out clean they are done. If you have multiple trays (I ended up with 2 full trays) you can bake them at the same time, but the top tray will be doen a little faster. Pull that out when done and leave the second tray a little longer. Try to only open the oven door when you are sure the meringues are done. If you keep opening it, they might collapse. My meringues were nice and crispy, but sometimes i like them to stil have a slightly sticky core. If you do too pull them out just before they are done. Your toothpick will come out with a small bit of mix on it.

Leave meringues to cool and enjoy!

Love, Renée

 

One thought on “Recipe: Pink Meringue

Leave a Reply

