Work in Progress Wednesday

Hello Everyone,

Today is Wednesday and so it’s time I shared my current wips!

My main project for the last few weeks is off the needles! All that’s left to do is to tuck in the last few ends (I didn’t have time to finish that before leaving for my dorm this week) and it needs a vigorous blocking session. It’s quite scrunched up and includes a lot of lace and cables so a good blocking will really make it bloom.

Here’s a picture from before it was done. The colour is a lot of here. The yarn is terrible to photograph even though it’s gorgeous in reality. It’s a blueish purple. Sometimes it looks more purple than other times, but it rarely looks like the colour above.

This is a photo of my favorite lace section. The colour here is a lot more accurate.

As i don’t have much to do on this I’ve continued on my next project.

I’ve continued work on my Painter socks! This is my first pair of vanilla socks and my first time using self striping yarn. I love it. It’s so relaxing and easy. To challenge myself I’ve made myself try out a new to me technique in this pair. I’m trying out an afterthought heel so as to not interrupt the pattern created by the yarn on the foot. I’m really enjoying this project so far. The yarn is soft yet firm and very pleasurable to work with. It was expensive, but it’s proving worthwhile. I bought the yarn while on vacation in New York so these socks will always have fond memories for me. I’m already imagining hexipuffs made from the leftovers. I’ve progressed a little further than is shown here. I’ve already placed the waste yarn for the heel and am now working on the foot. I’m hoping to match the striping on the first sock on the second sock.

The yarn for these socks was inspired by Hundertwasser paintings. Below is the one the colourway for these socks was based on. My yarn was labeled incorrectly so I had to do some digging to figure out which one it was based on.

What are you working on this week?

Love, Renée

ps. linking up with Tami’s Amis  🙂

5 thoughts on “Work in Progress Wednesday

    • Renée Kies says:

      Yes they’re great! It’s so calming to just knit around and around. And the patterning yarn keeps it from being boring!

  1. The lacy project up top is very intriguing … looking forward to seeing it blocked! I assume you use blocking wires, or just pins?

    The self-striping yarn is amazing. It looks like you planned the pattern.

    • Renée Kies says:

      Yepp! I actually just bought a set of wires last weekend. My LYS suddenly had some and I couldn’t resist. I’m using the purple shawl as an excuse to say that I simply needed them to block the thing haha!I used to pin everything out with hundreds of pins… Pfieuw!

Leave a Reply

