Casting on: Smaug Socks

Hello Everyone!

After finishing my last pair of socks, I wanted to cast on a new pair. I picked out some yarn and was looking for a good pattern. It was so difficult to pick! The yarn I had picked was also very different from what I had used so far. It was less fluffy and felt like it had less stretch than what I was used to. I joined a Sock group on Ravelry and saw that they have monthly challenges with themes. Fun! This month’s challenge is cables or over appreciated (more than a 1000 projects on Ravelry). I really enjoy cables so that was an easy choice. I ended up picking the Smaug Socks pattern by Claire Ellen. I have been eyeing them for a while so this seemed like a perfect occasion.

It really looks like scales! I’ve almost finished the first leg, but I still don’t know if it’s going to fit right. I’ll try it on as soon as i can, but the dpn’s make it tricky. I did cast on the larger size just in case.

Love, Renée

 

Leave a Reply

