Tadaa: Soft comfort

Hello Everyone,

Today’s “tadaa!” moment is all about one of the projects I’ve recently made that was done and off the needles before I had time to blog about it. It was quick and pretty straight forward.

Remember the Katia Nuuk yarn I ordered recently? A soft luscious goodness of yarn that ranges from fingering to super bulky all in one ball? That’s what I used for this project. My goal was to make a warm and comfortable cowl that sits snuggly around my neck without being constricting or itchy. I cast on 60 stitches and had a blast. I completely get why people use bulky yarn now! The fat (in this case 8mm) needles can be a bit heavy on the hands so frequent breaks are necessary, but it knits up so fast! I finished this cowl in 2 sittings (not counting the ones experimenting with size, etc). I improvised the pattern, but here’s what I did:

– Cast on 60 stitches.

– Knit one round, purl one round. Continue until yarn is almost finished.

– Bind off.

Quite the pattern huh?! No, let’s be serious, this is the perfect project for a beginner. It’s a fun and quick knit (although the consistency of the yarn can be a bit tricky and makes it harder to identify stitches. A stitchmarker is a necessity!) that helps practice knitting in the round, the knit and purl stitches and still delivers a fun end result. Because, where is the fun in knitting endless rectangles?

I was surprised by how forgiving this yarn ended up being. Any mistake was swallowed by the texture of the yarn and it survived multiple froggings remarkably well!

Of course as soon as I finished the thing the weather took a turn for the better, so it’s way to warm to wear right now. Come winter, I should be well prepared though, as I have another on the needles right now!

Love, Renée

Leave a Reply

